Barbagallo withdraws from District 2 council race

Stallman chooses not to run for third District 6 term

By Steve Taylor For the Leader

The Jefferson County Council will have at least two new members in January 2025 when the winners of this year's elections are sworn in.

Three of the seven council seats are up for election this year – Districts 2, 4 and 6.

The primary election will be held Aug. 6, and the general election will be held Nov. 5.

While District 4 incumbent Charles Groeteke has filed for a new four-year term, District 2's Gene Barbagallo withdrew Thursday, March 28, two days after filings for the primary election closed, and District 6's Dan Stallman did not file for a third term.

All are Republicans.

In February, the council chose Barbagallo, 73, of Imperial to replace Renee Reuter, who resigned her council seat before she was sworn in to the District 112 seat in the Missouri House of Representatives.

Barbagallo said he had several reasons for withdrawing from the race.

"I have some personal reasons, family issues that I've got to deal with, but also something I was looking at is by the time I would be sworn in to a new term, if I won, I'd be 74, and at the end of the term, I'd be 78. It's an age thing. You can't deny the numbers."

Stallman, 79, of De Soto said the reason he chose not to run again isn't necessarily tied to his age.

"Any elected office shouldn't be a lifetime deal," he said. "It's time to let someone else do it. There are four other people who want to do this job, and that's a good thing."

He said he's looking forward to living a quieter life.

"It will be nice to have more time to talk with my grandkids and great-grandkids (he has four grandchildren and three greatgrandchildren). And after working for more than 20 years (as a road deputy and DARE officer) with the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office and then the County Council, a slow, quiet day will be nice."

Both Barbagallo and Stallman said they plan to bow out with no regrets.

"I have no problems with anyone there," Barbagallo said. "Everyone on the council has different opinions, of course, but we're all trying to represent our constituents the best we can. I hold no grudges against anybody, and the staff at the county, I can't say anything but wonderful things. I have no complaints."

Stallman said he has particular admiration for the three chairs of the council



Gene Barbagallo Dan Stallman

during his time, including the three most recent, Groeteke, the current chair, and former council members Phil Hendrickson and Tracey Perry.

"They seemingly eat, breathe and live the county and work 24/7," he said. "They're great. Every time I had to call them, they were outstanding. And the administration and staff have been great, as well as our executive assistants (Cherlynn Boyer and her predecessor, Pat Schlette). Just outstanding people."

No Democrats filed for any of the council seats, so the winners of the Republican Party's primary elections will be sworn in during a January meeting.

Barbagallo said he will support Alan Leaderbrand, who is running against Billy Crow and former state Rep. Jeff Roorda for the Republican nomination in District 2.

"I know (Leaderbrand) from working with him with the county Republican Central Committee," he said. "I believe he is the right person to work in the people's interest." Stallman said any of the four Republicans running for his District 6 seat – Brad Basler, Stan Richardson, Timothy Myers and Tim Brown – could do a good job.

Thursday, April 4, 2024

"I know Tim Brown, who has a lot of experience serving on the Grandview R-2 (school) board," Stallman said.

Below is a list of candidates who had filed as of the deadline.

Because Barbagallo withdrew after two days before the filing deadline, additional filings for his District 2 seat re-opened Tuesday and will close at 5 p.m. Friday.

Also, because state Sen. Mary Elizabeth Coleman withdrew from running for the 3rd District in the U.S. House of Representatives to run for secretary of state (See related story, Page 1), additional candidates will be accepted for that Senate seat during the same time period.

The same holds true for lieutenant governor, as Dean Plocher also switched to the Republican secretary of state primary after first filing for lieutenant governor, also on the last day of filing.

Incumbents – those who are seeking reelection to the office they filed for – are marked with an (I).

Governor

Republicans: Darrell Leon McClanahan III, Jeremy Gundel, Bill Eigel, Robert James Olson, John R. (Jay) Ashcroft, Mike Kehoe, Chris White, Darren L. Grant, Amber Thomsen; Democrats: Eric Morri-

See FILING, Page 5